Board index Bible

What is the Bible? Why do we say it's God's Word? How did we get it? What makes it so special?
Forum rules
This site is for dialogue, not diatribe. And, by the way, you have to be at least 13 years old to participate. Plus normal things: no judging, criticizing, name-calling, flaming, or bullying. No put-downs, etc. You know the drill.

The Bible and truthful imagery

Postby Scuba Diver » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:18 pm

Why are so many Christians, and the church so afraid of the truthful imagery found within the Bible?

I am studying to be a preacher, and I've always never understood why so many people in the church are so scared and turned off by the imagery in the Bible. A lot of it isn't pretty. If an angel appeared before us in their true form, we'd be as scared as if we saw a demon. The devil is hardly talked about, and any mention seems to be shunned by many. While he may be the evil that wants to turn us away, he plays a major role in our faith, yet we ignore the truth. It's more of a "Yeah, he's bad. Stay away," and that's it manner when he is discussed. If someone tried painting scenes from the end times, many would frown on it and see it as satanic first. The darkest thing normally seen is Jesus on the cross, but mostly he is looking down toward the ground and the face of pain and struggle that he went through for us is never really shown.