Board index Salvation

How do we come into a relationship with God? What does that mean, and how does one go about that? How does somebody get to heaven?

Born again vs being saved

Postby MarybethL » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:45 pm

Hello to all,
I am new to the sight.
Needing your help to understand.
I am very uncomfortable with the "I'm saved" vocabulary. It sounds like blind faith or arrogance to me.
Is there a difference between being born again and being saved ??? What do these terms actually mean ???
MarybethL

Re: Born again vs being saved

Postby jimwalton » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:43 am

Thanks for asking. Glad to help. Feel free to respond about anything you don't understand or want to talk about more.

"Born again" and "being saved" are both expressions of the same thing in the Bible: coming to new life in Christ. There are several ideas behind the "born again" metaphor. It comes primarily from John 3:3. One idea is that when a person comes to Christ, they "die" to their former self (their sinful self) and are "born again" like a new person, now a follower of Jesus. It also has the imagery of now being in God's family rather than, like, lost and alienated. The third idea behind it is that when you were born from your mama you were born physically; when you are born the second time (born again), you are born spiritually. There is another verse in 2 Corinthians 5:17: "If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come." A fresh start, as if God has created something brand new that wasn't there before. It's the same ideas as "born again." God transforms people into something new. Our very nature is changed.