Board index Bible

What is the Bible? Why do we say it's God's Word? How did we get it? What makes it so special?
Forum rules
This site is for dialogue, not diatribe. And, by the way, you have to be at least 13 years old to participate. Plus normal things: no judging, criticizing, name-calling, flaming, or bullying. No put-downs, etc. You know the drill.

Sola Scriptura

Postby Loving the Ride » Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:46 pm

Sola Scriptura seems illogical and self-refuting to me, so I'd love to hear more about why you believe in it. The Bible came from the Catholic Church, and I think it requires a single authority for resolving matters of interpretation. I work in the software field, and we call this "institutional knowledge". I was a skeptic, but my research of history supports the claim that all the Apostles and writers of the New Testament were Catholics, and that the Church carries contextual knowledge from being with the Jews and then Christ. Lutheranism and the thousands of sects that he spawned over the past 500 years are each inventing their own doctrines, which proves the unsustainability of doctrine outside the Catholic Church. I would love to hear your thoughts on that. The unchanging doctrines of the Church and the product of the Bible itself shows the presence of the Holy Spirit. I've never seen a man-made institution ever come close to that track record.

I hope you are doing well! God bless.
Loving the Ride

Re: Sola Scriptura

Postby jimwalton » Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:00 pm

I did get your bullet points. I didn't respond to them specifically because I don't want to give the impression that I am deprecating Catholicism.

> The Bible came from the Catholic Church